About Kalamunda

Of the fourteen *Nyoongar language groups, the people who live in the Perth region are known as the Whadjuk people. The Canning River is the border between the two Whadjuk clans, the Bilya (Beeliar) and Beeloo (Beelu) people. The land south of the Swan River and west of the Canning River to the coast is known as Bilya (Beeliar). The land east of the Canning River to the Helena River is Beeloo land. The Youran (bobtail lizard) is the totem animal for the Bilya people; and the Nyingarn (echidna) is the totem animal for the Beeloo people. The Beeloo people hunted tortoises in the wetlands (Mundy Swamp), carrying them to higher ground in the east for cooking and eating.

During the early days of settlement, Mundy (Munday) (pronounced mun-dee) was one of the most important and successful negotiators for the Whadjuk community. The name can be recognised in Mundy Regional Park and Mundy Swamp, a wetland located against the north-eastern perimeter fence of Perth airport, south-west of King road and west of the Forrestfield and Kewdale railway yards. 

In 1827 the Colonial Botanist Mr Charles Fraser and Captain James Stirling explored the region to evaluate its suitability for farming. Initially the area was used for forestry and orchards; fruit growing continues to be one of the major industries in the City today. The Townsite of Kalamunda was approved in 1902 and quickly established itself as a tourism destination. Advertised as a ‘health resort’, City folk would travel to Kalamunda to experience nature, fresh air and a change of climate. This rich heritage now provides a range of historical and cultural attractions for tourists.

*Nyoongar is the general name for Aboriginal people in the south-west of Western Australia. 

Story of Maamba
Story of Joobaitch
Story of Lesmurdie Falls
© City of Kalamunda 2020